Goosemoose Pet Portal

Rats Rule! => Reference Desk => Topic started by: Suebee on April 12, 2002, 03:12:11 PM

Title: RAT CARE RESOURCES ON THE INTERNET
Post by: Suebee on April 12, 2002, 03:12:11 PM
The following is a list of valuable internet resources.

Frequently Asked Questions - check here to see if you can find your answer.
RMCA FAQ (http://www.rmca.org/Resources/faqs.htm)

Care Information - how to properly care for your rats.
Rat Care Guidelines at ratsrule.com (http://www.ratsrule.com/ratcare.html)
Suebee's Rat Diet (http://www.ratsrule.com/diet.html)
Forbidden Foods List (http://www.petratscanada.com/forbidden_foods.htm)
RFC: Helpful Info (http://www.ratfanclub.org/helpinfo.html)
RMCA Drug Chart (http://www.rmca.org/Articles/dchart.htm)
Rat Medication Guide from RatGuide.com (http://ratguide.com/meds/)
Rat Guide: First Aid Supply List (http://ratguide.com/health/basics/first_aid_supplies.php)
Cedar and Pine Toxicity (http://www.ratsrule.com/cedar.html)
Cage Calculator (http://www.ratsrule.com/cagecalc.html)
UK Cage Calculator, Brand Names Included (http://health.ratzrus.co.uk/cagecalc/index.htm)
The Importance of Proper Quarantine (http://angelratdesigns.com/quarentine.html)
RMCA Article on Quarantine (http://www.rmca.org/Articles/quarantine.htm)
SDA Information (http://ratguide.com/health/viruses/sda.php)
Ratguide.com (http://www.ratguide.com)
RatGuide: Introducing Rats (http://ratguide.com/care/behavior/introducing_rats.php)
RFC: Introducing a New Rat (http://www.ratfanclub.org/newrat.html)
AFRMA: Trust Training (http://www.afrma.org/trusttraining.htm)
RFC: Trust Training (http://www.ratfanclub.org/trust.html)
Sexing Baby Rats (http://www.ratz.co.uk/sexingrats.html)
A photograhic journal of rat development from birth to 4 weeks from Bellaratta's Nest (http://ratgrowth.homestead.com/)

Vet Referrals - finding a good vet before you need one is vital.
Rat Fan Club: How to Find a Good Rat Vet (http://www.ratfanclub.org/vetgood.html)
Rat Fan Club: Vet Referral List (http://www.ratfanclub.org/vetref.html)
RMCA: Vet List (http://www.rmca.org/Resources/vets.htm)
The Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons Vet search engine (http://www.rcvs.org.uk/Templates/InternalHome.asp?NodeID=89659)

For Vets recommended by forum members, check these threads:
North America (US & Canada) (http://www.goosemoose.com/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=70&?topic=19879.0)
International (http://www.goosemoose.com/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=70&?topic=20097.0)

Dealing with Allergies - some people find that they are allergic to rats. Here are some links to help you deal with them
Coping With Allergies to Rats (http://ratfanclub.org/allergy.html)


Breeder Directories - find a breeder in your area.
Just Rats: Breeders (http://www.justrats.com/breeders/)
RMCA Breeder List (http://www.rmca.org/Resources/breeders.htm)

Breeding Information - not something to be taken lightly.
THE MOST IMPORTANT LINK: Should I Breed My Rats? (http://angelratdesigns.com/2breedornot.html)
Rat Fan Club (http://www.ratfanclub.org/repro.html)
RMCA (http://www.rmca.org/Articles/breeding.htm)
 
Shopping!
Martin's Cages (http://www.martinscages.com)
For your rat shopping needs, check the Pet Stores (http://www.goosemoose.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=22&Itemid=75). Purchases made through those links help support our community!
 
Build Your Own Cage!
Grotto Style (http://www.dapper.com.au/cagebuild.htm)
Plastic Tub Cage (http://www.dapper.com.au/articles.htm#cage)
 
Breeder and Rescue Lists
International Rodent Fancy Directory (http://www.rodentfancy.com/irmd)
RMCA Breeder List (http://www.rmca.org/Resources/breeders.htm)
 
Rat Varieties and Standards
AFRMA (http://www.afrma.org/fancyrm.htm)
RMCA (http://www.rmca.org/Standard/Rat)

 
More Links
Suebee's Rat Names (http://www.ratsrule.com/names.html)
Rats Rule (http://www.ratsrule.com)

Many thanks to Ruthie-Chan for having a back-up copy of the links on her site! I'm making a backup for myself RIGHT NOW.

9/6/08 edited by Scout to remove some dead links.
Title: Re: RAT CARE RESOURCES ON THE INTERNET
Post by: Dearpie on April 01, 2009, 11:06:05 AM
I'm just bumping this to the top of the section, so members have no excuse for not seeing it easily!  ;)