Author Topic: Is it ok to have two male rats in the same cage?  (Read 6468 times)

Offline Zuki

• Ritten
    • Saiyuki's raves
Is it ok to have two male rats in the same cage?
« on: March 03, 2005, 09:25:48 AM »
I am really new at the whole owning a rat. I just got Charlie about two months ago and I was wondering if maybe I should get him a friend so he's not lonely. But I don't know much about having multiple rats. What I mean is , is it OK to keep two male rats together or are they just going to fight? Will having a big cage and plenty of food and water keep them from fighting? Let me know though, so I can start thinking about the second rat. :heart: :BlueDumboSmile: :hyper:
~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Cats: Peewee (R.I.P Sammy)
Hamsters: Jakey (R.I.P Jasper)
Ratties: Charlie and Travis

Offline kmw

• Global Moderator
  • Posts Too Much!
  • No longer a rat mom
Re: Is it ok to have two male rats in the same cage?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2005, 09:28:53 AM »
It is very possible to have more than one male rat in a cage.  It's easiest to get them the same age, the same time, and not worry about introductions.  Next best is to get a baby to introduce to an older male rat.  The one introduction most likely to cause problems is adult male to adult male. 

You need to follow proper quarantine procedures (if you're in the US or Canada) and don't rush introductions - just plopping them into a cage together is asking for trouble.  Do a search on the forum or look in the Reference Desk for quarantine and introductions.
kmw
RFC Moderator

"Everybody knows how to raise children, except the people who have them." - P.J. O'Rourke

The Bean  Bean 2.0

Offline tsk_n_such

• Posts Too Much!
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2005, 09:41:02 AM »
I have two cages with three boys each in them :)
The wee rat girls: Dysentery, Tularemia and Listeria

Offline Sapphire_Rats

• Posts Too Much!
  • GIMMIE!!!!
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2005, 11:03:06 AM »