Author Topic: New carpeting lethal? Please help!  (Read 2932 times)

Offline Gypsy Heart

New carpeting lethal? Please help!
« on: January 01, 2007, 06:39:11 PM »
Hi all. I'm new to the Rabbit section. I'm usually over in Rat's Rule. I have a question concerning my daughter's rabbit though. About 2 months ago, we decided to allow her to bring home one of her rabbits that she bought and is housing at her boyfriend's parents house. Our Christmas present (early) to her was to purchase the parts to make a cage from those wire shelf kits. About one week after bringing SweetPea home, he died from unknown causes. He had had surgery to fix a tear and remove one testicle due to an injury from a fight months before and seemed completely recovered from that. The only thing I can think of, is that (a) he was chewing on the carpet edges unknowingly to us, or (b) the brand new carpet we put down had too much new-carpet chemicals in it. I just removed the OLD carpeting that was on the 2 higher levels and replaced it with new, so I am worried that this could cause problems in the new bunny she brings home.
Does new carpeting cause potentially lethal problems in rabbits? If so, does letting them "air" for a while (how long?) allow the chemicals to "evaporate"? Or might there be a problem I have overlooked?
She is wanting to bring her bunny home tonight. I am making her wait another week to see what you people say, and perhaps "air" the new carpeting out.
Thanks in advance for any and all replies.

Offline BlueMoon

• Posts Too Much!
    • Volunteers for Wildlife
Re: New carpeting lethal? Please help!
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2007, 12:15:02 AM »