Author Topic: Carrie's Intro/I'm new  (Read 684 times)

Offline *CARRIE*

• 2 kids and a menagerie :-)
    • Pics of my rats
Carrie's Intro/I'm new
« on: August 08, 2007, 11:19:56 PM »
Hi! My name is Carrie & I'm new to goosemoose.  I just got home from 2.5 weeks visiting my parents in Florida & I can't wait to pick up my rats from my friend tomorrow!

I am 34 & a science teacher on Long Island, NY.  I have a 7 yr old daughter & a 5 yr old son (and a 33 yr old husband!).  We have a rat terrier (adopted), 3 cats and 2 african clawed frogs.  We adopted 7 female rats in late May.  We got them off of freecycle.  The woman was very nice, but not educated about taking care of rats.  They were in a 20 gallon fish tank in wood shavings.  We bought them a wire cage and carefresh litter. They were also eating table food- like baked macaroni & cheese!  We feed them lab blocks & some treats - they love caulifolower the best and goldfish crackers.

My rats are a mom & all of her female babies.  The mom is about 7 mos old and the daughters are about 4 mos.  Their names are Pita, Pepsi, Cinnamon, Mrs. Frisby, Chocolate Milk, Strawberry & Oreo.  They are nice, very active & very curious!  They chewed on my son's brand new expensive loft bed already! I really enjoy having them as pets.  I am very interested in animal welfare & rescue.  My mother-in-law actually has a "rescue farm" upstate NY, but she doesn't adopt out, just take in & she's saturated at the moment, plus she only has livestock, labs & cats.  I have been a member of Metropolitan Maltese Rescue since it was founded.  I don't do much now except for home checks. 

I'm so happy that someone shared this forum with me.  I am learning a lot about pet rats.  :BlueDumboSmile:  I like adopting, but I'd love to have a baby.  That's the problem with adopting - wish I saw my girls as babies, my dog too.

Pics of my girls should be in my photo album, but I don't know if it worked. 

Here are a 2 slideshows of my rattie girls: