Author Topic: Senior Rabbit... could I neuter??? **GOOD NEWS!!!**  (Read 11649 times)

Offline gwyn

• Posts Too Much!
  • If you have to ask, you wouldn't understand.
Senior Rabbit... could I neuter??? **GOOD NEWS!!!**
« on: February 01, 2008, 11:34:57 AM »
Okay, here's my situation:

I have two rabbits that I am thinking about bonding.  One is an 8yr old neutered Dutch male, Thumper... he is pretty laid back, if a bit stubborn...  the other is a very energetic lil 10yr old... Opie... and he is intact.  I'd like to maybe bond them... but, I'm worried about Opie.  I know neutering is the best thing you can do for your bun, but do you think it would be dangerous to put him through surgery with his age being what it is?  He seems to be a healthy, spry little guy.  Or, if it would be to risky to neuter him with his age, would it still be possible for me to bond the two of them?

I'm no expert with rabbits, so any advice is more than welcome!!!
« Last Edit: March 27, 2008, 02:56:17 PM by gwyn »
My rescued ratlings: Reggie and Tony.
:heart: RIP Nudge and Ella, Molly and Tippy, Max and Angel, Clover and Logan. Rest easy. :heart:
Teenage Mutant Ninja Bun: Prince Leonidas Fluffybutt
:heart: RIP Thumper, my heart :heart:

Offline ScoutGotBig

• Posts Too Much!
Re: Senior Rabbit... could I neuter???
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2008, 01:01:10 PM »
We spayed a 9 y/o girl with cancer, and she made it thru and lived another 7 months very happily.

If you are careful, with an experienced rabbit vet, I think it might be worth a try.  Two old guys would enjoy life together I bet.
click the eggs please!

Offline vintagerat

• Posts Too Much!
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2008, 11:31:59 PM »
I would definitely take your bunny into a VERY experienced rabbit vet and have an exam done thoroughly, then see what the vet has to say about a neuter.

10 years is pretty amazing for a bunny  :). My longest lived bunny was 9. My oldest now is almost 2.

Offline gwyn

• Posts Too Much!