Author Topic: travel equipment for pet rats?  (Read 389 times)

Offline rattus

travel equipment for pet rats?
« on: December 17, 2008, 08:03:18 PM »
i use a small cloth carrier with wire grid window and wrap it up in a blanket to deal with the cold.  the benefit of the cloth carrier is that they won't get bumped around on anything hard (the bars) and it's easier to wrap them up to keep them warm. however, i have only taken them on short rides.

a family is taking care of them (i'm a teacher) over the break.  they plan to bring them on an hour long ride to long island.  they've never been on that long a trip.  i know they will be ok, but do you think i should tell her to keep them in the small carrier (with bedding) or in the cage?  if she uses the carrier, she will throw in some kind of veggie for moisture - you can't hang a wattle bottle in there. 

or do you think she should put them in the wire cage? 

last time she did do a good job of taking care of them.  but i didn't like that she put them in the trunk of her car (the cage) rather than on her lap to keep them comfortable and talk to them.

Offline chiropteragirl

• Posts Too Much!
Re: travel equipment for pet rats?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2008, 08:31:43 PM »
That is a REALLY bad idea to put rats in the trunk of the car. They could suffocate, or get jolted around and break their necks!

Definitely make the family have the carrier with them in the car, and either strap the carrier with a seat belt, hold it, or secure it somehow.

The rats also might chew through the cloth carrier. Are they big chewers? If they aren't, then I wouldn't worry too much, but if they do like chewing, they might be able to chew through the carrier in an hour.
My fat little cyber rattie:
   () ()
>(_)<
   ('' '')
   (   )~~

Offline Pepper

« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2008, 09:06:46 PM »