Author Topic: First time owner... which Martins cage?  (Read 933 times)

Offline Blackmoons

• Forum Enabler
  • We can no longer live as rats. We know too much.
First time owner... which Martins cage?
« on: December 01, 2008, 11:12:34 AM »
I am a first time owner of rats. I have two little boys (Mac and Ringo) that just came to live with me yesterday.  Currently they are living in a ten gallon tank but I've been doing my research and I really want to step up to a Martin's cage as soon as I can afford to do so (I'm a poor college student, what can I say).

Anyway I don't have a ton of room in my dorm or in my room at home.  So I've pretty much narrowed it down to the Rat Cabin or the Rat Tower because both have the same 24" x 14" base which will do nicely in both locations. 

For a first cage, I just want to know if the Rat Tower is worth the extra cost.  I've already asked the people at Martin's if they could put a larger front door on the Rat Cabin (so that is the larger door from the Rat Lodge which many other reviews have said is MUCH nicer) and they said they could.  I just want to know if those of you with lots of experience would push for one cage over the other.  Clearly the tower has more space but will it be worth it for just two rats? (keep in mind I'm going to have to transport it from school to home...)

And what do you recommend I put in either cage -- I want to get a wheel and a hammock but is there any other "must-haves" you can suggest?

Offline DorseyClairebelle

• Posts Too Much!
  • Clairezabobber
Re: First time owner... which Martins cage?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2008, 11:33:08 AM »