Author Topic: Sick foster kitten- labored breathing  (Read 4618 times)

Offline 13ronin

Sick foster kitten- labored breathing
« on: November 07, 2010, 09:51:35 PM »
Hey all I'm new to the cats section but I've bounced around on the rats section for a few months now off and on.  Well; I'll get right down to it.  Yesterday I took in a foster kitten about 12-16 weeks old.  Very sweet kitty.  Today though he seems to be having a harder time breathing and I've noticed a lump inside his abdomen while palpitating it.  Its pretty large; just below his ribcage on the left hand side.  He is very emaciated and we are feeding him.  He's eating and drinking and using the litter box just fine.  Still craving attention and starts purring if you so much as look at him.  But I am concerned; particularly with the labored breathing.  The animal shelter doesn't open till 2:00pm tomm.  If he isn't better in the morning I plan on contacting my vet and seeing if they have after hours contact info or if they do vet work for the shelter.  In the mean time is there anything I should be doing?  I do have asthma so I could give him a breathing treatment...

Offline forkyfork

• Posts Too Much!
    • DANANI
Re: Sick foster kitten- labored breathing
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2010, 10:08:43 PM »
You need to go to an e-vet. It doesnt sound like it will make it until the morning if you dont. Call the vet and see if the rescue has an account with them or has used them before.

We arent vets. We cant tell you to give a breathing treatment. You need to contact an e-vet. If it were a cat in my care with those issues we would already be at the vet.

Good luck hopefully it works out ok for the kitten.

Offline 13ronin

« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2010, 10:36:23 PM »