Author Topic: At long last...the DIY Rat Mansion is finished! (Lots of pics)  (Read 44156 times)

Offline katethegreat

• Blimpcat Studio - design, weddings, whimsy
For the last two months, give or take, I've been working on a new cage for my girls. They previously lived in a Coast Cages Rat Mansion, which was nice enough, just a bit difficult to clean and it didn't go with anything in my house (a frivolous problem, I know, but I'm a graphic and interior designer so it really bugged me!). I built them a new cage using an IKEA EXPEDIT bookshelf as the base. (For anyone who's concerned, I did a lot of research into their chemicals and emissions, and found that IKEA's pressboard is much lower in chemicals like formaldehyde than normal treated wood--it actually has less chemicals than the drinking water in some major cities!  :shocked2: So I felt safe putting them in there.)

According to the cage calculator, it's large enough to hold 5 rats--I only have the two for now, of course, but I wouldn't mind a third eventually (maybe a neutered boy?). It's much bigger than the old one! Of course it's never 100% done, I'll always be adding more stuff, but I'm declaring it finished for the time being :)

I added legs, cut holes in the shelves for them to move through, built 6 doors with mesh, added mesh to the back, and ladders between the levels, for starters. It was so much work! I know I didn't spend any less than I would have on a big pre-built cage, but I really love it and the rats seem to as well. So without further ado, here it is all closed up...

And open...

Here's the top floor, with the multi-level hammock (their current favorite sleeping spot), Wodent Wheel, and toys:

The second floor, with a papier-mache egg chair I made for them, food dishes, tube (just a cardboard mailing tube with a scrap of fabric stuck on using water-based glue), toy, corner hammock, and water bottle:

The bottom floor, with their paper dig box, cuddle cup, and litter box: