Author Topic: Considering an addition  (Read 1105 times)

Offline ibinitch

• It's funnier in Enochian.
    • The Creative Owl
Considering an addition
« on: April 13, 2013, 09:50:09 PM »
I have a 9 year old indoor only cat and in the past I have tossed around the idea of getting another but decided not to because she has never been around other cats. I have no experience with introducing cats so I am not sure if it would be a good idea or not. Are older cats accepting of kittens? She is not mean but very used to being the only feline in the house. Are there any more experienced cat folks out there that can offer some advice? 
Bri, furmom to chihuhuas Princess & Daisy, rats Ruby & Piper & ferrets Penny, LD, Chester & Willow.
Rest Peacefully Maggie, Charlie, Minnie & Butters.
~ My Etsy Shop

Offline forkyfork

• Posts Too Much!
    • DANANI
Re: Considering an addition
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2013, 11:43:47 PM »
I have 8 cats and also had 2 dogs. I got them one or two at a time. My oldest cat is 13, I got him from a rescue when he was a year. He had to be introd to our current dogs which went well. Then I got my second cat a few months later. We went seven years without an addition and then added 2 feral kittens. The intros went well and they all got along together. Then 2 yrs later I added 3 barn kittens with health issues and 6 months later added a stray kitten I found at the grocery store.

For some reason when I had the two barn kitten girls spayed (5 months after putting them together) the feral tortie colored female started acting up. She started marking (peeing) on the kitchen counters on the food and various things on the counter. She marked me while I was going to the bathroom. I made sure it wasnt physical or mental ( put her on prozac and wellbutrin) and tried everything and could not get her to stop. She also started torturing one of the girls. She lives on the porch now because we could not get her to stop peeing on the counters.