Author Topic: Ideas for Play Areas?  (Read 3114 times)

Offline クリスタル

• Ritten
Ideas for Play Areas?
« on: October 26, 2014, 10:21:58 PM »
I'm new to owning rats (I got my first two baby boys just two weeks ago) and I am just getting the hang of things with setting up their cage, cleaning it, their feeding/treat schedules, etc. When it comes to play time though, I am never sure where to play with them outside their cage! I always let them out to run all over my arms/shoulders about 2-3times a day, but isn't that not enough for them~?  :eek:

My ratties were a sort of a present to myself (ever since I was very young I've wanted pet rats) and my parents were okay with it as long as I paid for them and cared for them. They actually still aren't completely used to the idea of me having rats as pets but they do come and say hi to them every once in a while. When it comes to play areas outside the cage, they get real nervous about it. They see how fast my hyper boy Toki is and they definately prefer they stay in their cage. But they need playtime outside!

I have tried using my bed and my desk, which both have worked nicely for them - and I have toys for them to play with while they're out too. That was a couple times though. I am wondering if there any other ideas I could do that would make my parents comfortable with their outside play time without me having to do it when they are gone/asleep and aren't aware the rats are outside their cage. - Our bathroom is huge and there's places they can get lost. My room is big too and has lots of cords and hiding places. (Toki was under the bed several times, had to use treats to bribe him out and then he ran back under to eat it  :yelcutelaugh: )

Also any ideas to ease my parents uneasiness about them being out playing?
My Dad thinks they can climb plastic....and walls :doh:

Offline Vonda Z

• Posts Too Much!
    • Ratropolis: Life with Rats
Re: Ideas for Play Areas?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2014, 11:26:33 PM »