Author Topic: Litter Training Questions (& One About Painting)  (Read 639 times)

Offline Rana

Litter Training Questions (& One About Painting)
« on: June 11, 2017, 03:52:01 PM »
How difficult is it to litter-train rats, anyway? I'm looking into it for rats I might be getting, but I've never done really any training before so I'm not sure where to start, really.

And, what can I expect from a "perfectly" trained rat- no pee/poop ever outside the litter box, just urine everywhere still, a mix of both...? I guess I'm asking if litter training can be as complete as it is with, say, a cat, or if I'd still be doing lots of cleaning.

Speaking of cats ours uses "World's Best" litter, which is corn-based- would this be okay to use for rats, do you think? Only needing to buy one type of litter would be very helpful...

Any reason a cut-down milk jug wouldn't work as a litter pan?

I've seen "pee rocks" talked about enough to think I should find one, but is there a particular size/type/color/shape that works best?

Finally, I'd like to paint the plastic pan that came with my cage- right now it's an ugly pinkish tan, ugh. What brush-able/roll-on paint brands are rat safe, or do I really need to look for a spray option? I have plenty of time to let it cure, that's not the problem, but I live in an apartment and getting outside to spray something would be an ordeal.

Thanks in advance!

Offline BigBen

• Posts Too Much!
  • Almost as smart as a rat
Re: Litter Training Questions (& One About Painting)
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2017, 04:26:40 PM »
Rats are smart, but they can also be stubborn.  One recommended approach is to see which corner of the cage the rats use and put a litter pan there.  Lightweight plastic is probably not a good idea, since it's likely to be overturned.  Although a pee rock might help with that--and speaking of which, a stone the size of your fist (or brick-sized, for that matter) is perfect.  Use a non-porous rock; it'll be easier to keep clean.